The Seven Deadly Sins of Georgia

The Seven Deadly Sins of Georgia

The state of Georgia has one particular law called the seven-deadly-sins which was implemented in order to prosecute juvenile offenders who committed violent crimes. The age of criminal responsibility for young offenders in Georgia is age 13 to 17.

The Young Offender

This defines a juvenile, between the ages of 13 and 17, who has committed a criminal act. Young offenders are not treated the same as adult offenders. Another term used to describe a minor committing a crime is juvenile delinquency.

Seven Deadly Sins

This law was passed in early 1994 but only implemented in 1995. The seven deadly sins include; murder, manslaughter, rape, armed robbery, child molestation, sodomy, and sexual battery.

All but four of the deadly sins carry a minimum sentence of ten years imprisonment. The last four – rape, sexual battery, sodomy, and child molestation – carry a minimum sentence of 25 years to life imprisonment.

First-Degree Murder

Naturally, this criminal act carries with it severe consequences. Convicted first-degree murderers face either the death penalty, life imprisonment with no parole, or life imprisonment with no bail application for a minimum of 30 years served.

Second-Degree Murder

A criminal act which is just as serious as first-degree murder, however, if convicted, the murderer faces ten to thirty years imprisonment.

Capital Punishment

The death penalty is legal in the state of Georgia. It was reintroduced in 1973 with the first prisoner execution in 1983. There are 31 states which use capital punishment. The primary form of capital punishment is death by lethal injection.

Some states allow prisoners on death row the choice in which way they will be put to death. This includes hanging, electrocution, or gas inhalation.

This includes; North Carolina, Oregon, Arkansas, Florida, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, South Carolina, Virginia, Utah, Missouri, Washington, Oklahoma, Wyoming, South Dakota, Alabama, Texas, California, Arizona, Georgia, Colorado, New Hampshire, Nevada, Mississippi, Kansas, Idaho, Kentucky, Indiana, Louisiana, Ohio, Montana, and Nebraska.

Every year the rate at which violent crimes, especially committed by young offenders, is on the rise. Let the law run its course.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *